Archive for August 2nd, 2009

How a Hindu-Muslim journo-couple live, let live

2 August 2009

Khushwant Singh in The Telegraph, Calcutta, introduces former Mid-Day deputy editor Pinki Virani‘s fourth book, Deaf Heaven:

“Pinki Virani is a Muslim. Her husband, V. Shankar Aiyar, a senior executive with India Today, is a Tamil-Brahmin. When I met Pinki for the first time, I asked her how the marriage was working out since both had stuck to their respective faiths.

“‘Fine! Just fine,’ she replied. ‘I say my namaz in one room, he tinkles bells to his deities in the other. No problems, whatsoever.’

“I was happy to hear it. The more Hindu-Muslim marriages, the better. I find conversions demeaning.”

Read the full article: The Virani saga

Also read: Khushwant Singh on his last day at The Illustrated Weekly

Weekly Forecast: ‘Lots of bylined stories for print journalists’

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,520 other followers

