Archive for March 13th, 2010

How Arun Shourie became the Express editor

13 March 2010

Magsaysay Award-winning former Indian Express editor turned BJP ideologue, Arun Shourie, in conversation with Mahesh Sarma:

How did you get the Indian Express editor’s job?

Emergency had passed [in 1977]. I had got to know [Express proprietor] Ramnath Goenka through many episodes. And the Janta Party had come to power. We were staying in Mr Goenka’s house in Bangalore.

He asked what I was doing and I said, “What do you mean what am I doing? I can’t find a job, I am writing a book.

He said, ‘Stupid, who is going to read your book? No one is going to read it. You are not finding a job, I can’t find any young man, you come. I’ll tell the editor to give you some big title.’

That is my letter of appointment.

Photograph: courtesy The Hindu Business Line

Also read: For the BJP, is the pen mightier than the trishul?

Who are the journalists running, ruining BJP?

Don’t laugh: do journalists make good politicians?

The sad and pathetic decline of Arun Shourie

A columnist more powerful than all media barons

Arun Shourie: ‘Intolerant, abusive, dictatorial

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,526 other followers

