Archive for December 6th, 2010

How Dayanita Singh became a photographer

6 December 2010

The renowned photographer Dayanita Singh in an interview with Nadine Kreisberger, in the Indian Express‘ Sunday magazine, Eye:

“I was 18 and had gone to a Zakir Hussain concert. I was prevented from taking photographs by the organiser. I was angry and let Zakir know about it. He suggested I photograph him while he rehearsed the next morning. He then invited me to join him and his musicians while they travelled for a few days.

“That was it.

“I realised then that no other profession could give me freedom from social norms. But photography is just a tool. My references and inspirations come from literature, cinema and music. Photography is simply the vocabulary or medium I use to explore the world I find myself engaging with.”

Self-portrait: courtesy Peabody Museum

Also read: Pablo Bartholomew: cynical and proud of it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,444 other followers

