Archive for February 8th, 2008

‘There’s no place for emotion in an anchor’s life’

8 February 2008

The BBC anchor Nik Gowing in an interview with Krishnakumar P. of

You were the one who brought the death of Princess Diana and you were on air for more than seven hours after the 9/11 attacks. Can you describe how you felt when you had to do it?

I have likened it to being a doctor. My job is to get it right on air. My job is not to worry about my emotions. For different reasons, I was very tired at the time Princess Diana’s death came in. But when I had to go on air and make that announcement, there was no emotion. It’s the same thing whether it is Diana or a disaster. You have to be cool and sharp in your observations and analyses.

Read the full interview: ‘The world is not flat’


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,318 other followers

